our clients
free resources & downloads
ISO14001 toolkit
home ISO14001 about us other services contact us
environmental management systems
Aecos Environmental offers the full range of environmental management system (EMS) related services and works with a wide range of sectors to help organisations achieve certification to ISO14001:2004, BS8555 or EMAS.
Whatever your requirements we provide cost effective and tailored support from full EMS implementation packages to individual EMS components. We also offer in-house training packages and ISO14001 toolkits for those who wish to develop their systems in-house with minimal support.
What is ISO 14001?
ISO 14001 is an internationally recognised standard that sets out how companies can implement an effective environmental management system (EMS). The standard is designed to address the fine balance between maintaining profitability and reducing environmental impact.
What's in ISO 14001?
The standard contains many elements that mirror the Quality Management Standard ISO 9001:2008:
bullet pointgeneral requirements
bullet pointenvironmental policy
bullet pointplanning, implementation and operation
bullet pointchecking and corrective action
bullet pointmanagement review
Implemented effectively the standard allows you to identify those aspects of your business that impact upon the environment and understand those environmental regulations that are relevant to your sector.
Why gain certification?
Independent certification to ISO 14001 is a highly visible means of demonstrating conformance to environmental legislation and shows the business has an effective management structure in place to minimise its impact upon the environment. Pressure to reduce environmental impacts is coming from a variety of sources: local and national government; regulators; trade associations; customers; employees and shareholders.
Certification to ISO 14001 allows a business to use the prestigious ‘tick and crown’ logo on stationery, websites and other marketing material to demonstrate conformance to customers and the wider public.
Increasingly government agencies, local authorities and blue chip companies are requiring their suppliers to have an EMS accredited to ISO 14001 in place.

We can provide you with support to gain accreditation to any of the above schemes and advise you on the standard or scheme most appropriate for your organisation
other standards
BS8555: is a British Standard for the phased implementation of an EMS. It can be used as a route towards ISO 14001 or EMAS. It's suitable for smaller organisations that wish to progress incrementally. It requires environmental performance evaluation and improvement.
Six phases of BS8555:
bullet pointcommitment & establishing baseline
bullet pointidentifying & ensuring compliance with legal & other requirements
bullet pointdeveloping objectives, targets & programmes
bullet pointimplementation & operation of the EMS
bullet pointchecking, audit & review
bullet pointISO14001 or EMAS certification
Acorn Scheme: provides UKAS accredited inspection for organisations that have an EMS in line with the requirements of BS8555. It is administered by the Institute of Environmental Management & Assessment (IEMA).
Green Dragon Scheme: similar to the Acorn Scheme but applies to organisations in Wales. The scheme has five levels with each contributing towards attainment of either ISO14001 or EMAS. External certification to the scheme is awarded by Groundwork Wales.
EMAS: The Eco-Management & Audit Scheme is a European accreditation scheme designed to recognise organisations that go beyond minimum legal compliance and continuously improve their environmental performance. To register organisations must:
bullet pointimplement an EMS that meets requirements of ISO14001
bullet pointundertake internal audits including checks on legal compliance and performance improvement
bullet pointprepare an Environmental Statement which must be publicly available
bullet pointhave the Environmental Policy, Environmental Statement and EMS assessed by an EMAS accredited verifier